The Certification Committee of the NAWCO is the governing body for all credentials.

“The NAWCO Certification Committee does not accredit, approve, endorse, or recommend any education or training programs and/or products designed or intended to prepare candidates for WCC Certification. The Committee has no involvement in the development or delivery of such programs or products.”

NAWCO offers the Certification Examinations to measure the academic and technical competence of eligible candidates in the area of wound, lymphedema, diabetic, ostomy, and nutritional management beyond their basic knowledge.

The Certification Committee provides criteria that must be met by acceptable courses.

  • Courses must be relevant to the Certification Exam domains
  • The course can be delivered online or onsite
  • The course must be a minimum of 20 hours of coursework

To receive credit, the CH/CPEUs must be from an accredited provider of continuing nursing/physician/therapy/dietitian education.

American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation (ANCC)
American Physical Therapy Associationsm (APTA)
National Alliance of Wound Care and Ostomy® (NAWCO®)
Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Educationtm (ACCME)
Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME)
American Medical Association (AMA)
Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR)
Wound Care Education Institute (WCEI)
Wound Educators
Wound Treatment Associate (WTA) Program